Robert Van de Noort, Vice-Chancellor

Environmental Sponsor, University Executive Board


Janis Pich

Director of Estates


Dan Fernbank

Energy and Sustainability Manager

Dan has been Energy & Sustainability Manager at the University since 2011, leading their estate-wide sustainability programmes, delivering a 41% cut in their carbon emissions and 29% cut in their water consumption; saving in excess of £30 million in the process.  He is also a voluntary Director for Reading Community Energy Society, which to date has installed over 400 kWp of community-funded solar PV in and around Reading.

Dan is a registered Practitioner in Managing Successful Programmes (MSP), is an Associate Member with the Energy Institute (AMEI) and in 2014 completed a first class honours Environmental Studies BSc through the Open University. “The University has long been a leader in teaching and research into a more sustainable future. We are proud to be leading by example too in delivering a more sustainable, low carbon estate through the implementation of our Sustainability programmes”


Anna Glue

Sustainability Officer

Anna joined the sustainability team over 7 years ago, she leads on the Environmental Management System, which is certified to ISO 14001 and has transitioned the system from the 2008 standard to the 2015 standard.  She is a practitioner member of IEMA with a BSc (hons) in Environmental Biology with a back ground in environmental risk and land quality. Anna has also worked on the waste management side of things and helped the University achieve its 50% recycling rate.

With an in depth knowledge of legal compliance and sustainability at the University, Anna believes that we all need to do our bit to make this world a better place for future generations, and where better to work than a university.


Paul Taylor

Sustainability Officer

Paul joined the sustainability team in summer 2018; and now coordinates re-use schemes, recycling facilities and waste management across the University. He has worked in estates-based settings for over 15 years, helping to improve environmental performance and develop sustainability strategy.

“I believe that strategic sustainability should focus on reducing negative impacts and encouraging positive outcomes, over the long-term; from an environmental, social, ethical & financial perspective.”

Darrell Marchand

Energy Analyst

Darrell has recently joined the team with a firm understanding of the energy and sustainability sector, his analytical skills are integral to supporting and managing the development, production and analysis of energy data. Plus reports across the University; leading monitoring and targeting of utilities consumption to continually reduce consumption, and monitoring and verify savings delivered through key energy saving initiatives.   



Luke Cantellow

Energy Officer

Luke leads on the energy and sustainability awareness and behavioural change initiatives across the University, engaging with University staff and students at all levels, and on an ongoing basis, to ensure that good environmental practices are embedded.

Luke works alongside the Energy and Sustainability Manager in maintaining the University’s Energy Management System, ensuring good energy practice is embedded across the University. This includes the identification of opportunities for energy, carbon and water savings, and supporting the management of approved projects to ensure their successful delivery.

“We find targeting the behaviour of our employees an effective way to reduce the University’s environmental impact. The focus on positive action and teamwork encourages students and staff to be an active part of our community.”



Kim Wan

Utilities Finance Administrator

Kim provides financial management and administration support in the production, monitoring and tracking of (£7m in 2017/18) the utilities, waste and sustainable travel budgets. While providing financial accounting support for all services overseen and provided by the sustainability team.



Naomi Wadsworth

Sustainability Assistant

Naomi is responsible for handling routine environmental queries and tasks across the breadth of the Sustainability Services’ work. This covers waste and recycling services, environmental and energy management including supporting key sustainability events and initiatives throughout the year. Naomi also oversees the team’s social media platforms and web content in order to provide timely and appropriate content for a range of audiences.


Karen Robertson

Cycle Trainer

Karen leads and delivers cycle projects to encourage as many staff and students as possible to take advantage of the great opportunity on campus.

Like the ‘cycle training’ which is not what you think! ‘That it is for kids’ or ‘for people who can’t ride a bike’. We promise you if you’ve never taken cycle training as an adult you will definitely learn something, and have a bit of a laugh. We’ll even throw in a set of cycle lights for even more encouragement. Sessions are generally held on Wednesday afternoons, but other times may be possible if you get in touch with us.

Environmental Management Review Group (EMRG)

Responsible for environmental and sustainability matters, with particular regard for the University's Waste Strategy and Travel Plan. In addition it is responsible for monitoring compliance with environmental legislation and ensuring University environmental procedures meet best practice. Full membership includes staff from across the University and from RUSU to represent the student body.

Estates and Environment Committee (E&E)

Makes recommendations to UEB on strategic decisions in relation to the use and maintenance of the Estate, carbon management, space management and accommodation. This is not an exhaustive list; the full terms of reference can be requested by emailing Sustainability Services on Senior Staff from across the University sit on the committee alongside students representing the student body.

There is full student representation on all University committees concerned with estates, planning, finances and strategic decision making. This is confirmed by the terms of reference for all University committees.