

Our Future First Sustainability Champions Network Objectives and Terms of Reference

The UoR sustainability champions network is composed of the lead sustainability champions from all the schools/functions, with additional supporting champions forming departmental working groups, where appropriate.

The principal functions of the sustainability champions network are to:

- **Identify and action positive change** to improve and embed sustainable practices within the champions' schools and functions, and the wider university;
- Raise awareness of sustainability and climate change, encouraging the adoption of sustainable behaviours by others, acting as a facilitator by supporting and empowering individuals to do so.

Meetings

Meetings will take place once a quarter and will be facilitated and chaired by a member of Sustainability Services. Where lead champions are unable to attend, attendance should be deputised to another champion within that school or function wherever possible. Non-members may be invited to attend meetings on occasion to contribute as appropriate.

Quorum

A quorum¹ shall be 30% of the lead champions Membership.

Conduct of Meetings

Decisions will normally be made after discussion and consensus, rather than by voting.

Rotation of Lead Champions

It is recommended that lead champions within schools/functions are rotated at a minimum of every 3 years to give opportunity to others to bring new perspectives. Appointment of new lead champions should be requests for and reviews of expressions of interest rather than by nomination to give everyone equal opportunity.

Terms of Reference

- 1. To consider and discuss policies for environmental impact, statutory or otherwise.
- 2. To consider relevant sustainability matters raised by members of the network and our wider University community.
- 3. To provide progress updates relating to the Our Future First programme.
- 4. To share ideas and experiences for sustainable practices and initiatives which may be rolled out in other areas.

¹ Quorum - the smallest number of people needed to be present at a meeting before it can officially begin and before official decisions can be taken.

- 5. To discuss challenges and obstacles to embedding sustainable practices and consider and discuss potential solutions.
- 6. To collaborate and provide an open and supportive safe space where sustainability matters can be discussed openly.
- 7. To discuss and agree the future direction of the programme, agreeing tangible actions and next steps to help embed sustainable practices within the University.
- 8. To identify sustainability training requirements both within and outside of the network.

Sustainability Champions Network Membership (Lead Champions) 2023–24

•	
School / Function	Lead Champion
School of Biological Sciences (SBS)	Charlie Collingham
	Glyn Barrett
School of Chemistry, Food and Pharmacy (SCFP)	Stephen Elmore
Henley Business School (HBS)	David Stannard
Campus Commerce	Matt Tebbit
Digital Technology Services (DTS)	Henrik Brogger
	Kevin Mortimer
Estates	Marcus McDonnell
Procurement	Erin Cooper
Reading Students' Union	Zena Facherty
Human Resources (HR)	Layla Tatar
Vice-Chancellors Office (VCO)	Elisha Bird
	Tom Oliver
Technical Services	Scott O'Brien
	Andy Whittam
School of Mathematics, Physics and	Bill Collins
Computational Sciences (SMPCS)	
School of Arts and Communication Design	Simone Knox
School of Law	Kyriaki Noussia
School of Agriculture, Policy and Development (SAPD)	Louise Hutchinson
School of Archaeology, Geography and Environmental Science (SAGES)	Heather Browning
Marketing and Communications and	Tish Gauci
Engagement (MCE)	James Mutton
	Julia Smalley
	Sara Lovejoy
School of Humanities	Gail Marshall (Interim)
School of Literature and Languages	Tony Capstick
International Study and Languages Institute (ISLI)	Lauren Andrews
Institute of Education	Jo Anna Reed Johnson
	Fiona Curtis
School of Politics, Economics & International	Jenna Gardner
Relations (SPEIR)	David Marshall



Sara Fincham Majumdar
Eugene Mohareb
Soon Gweon
Elisha Bird
Tom Oliver
Victoria Stevens
Calum Kirk
Vacancy
Vacancy
Elisha Bird
Tom Oliver
Dawn Lord
Edit Liebhardt
Caitlin O'Connor
Jacqui Payne
Elena Bedisti (Dr)
Jon Lloyd
Kris Morgan-Jones
Vacancy (not currently included in programme)
Vacancy (not currently included in programme)
Vacancy (not currently included in programme)