Mediasite: Edit Mediasite recordings

To access the Mediasite editor, click on the My Mediasite in the Blackboard left-hand course menu. When the Mediasite interface opens, you should see your recording in the list under My Presentations. Click on the title of the presentation you wish to edit to begin. 

A screenshot of the mediasite presentations list, with the title of a presentation highlighted as clickable.

From the next screen, you will see a number of options and information regarding the video. You can watch a preview, edit information and a number of other features, but for now you want to choose either edit video or edit slides depending on whether you produced a screencast or a slideshow.

A screenshot of Mediasites on a opened video, the edit video and edit slides buttons have been highlighted.

Editing window orientation

The first thing that you will see when editing a video, is the large preview window (this can be resized using draggable slides to its right). Below is an annotated screenshot of this section of the editing tool. This preview will show the frame of the video for whatever time you have placed the timeline marker on.

A screenshot of the editing window of mediasites with the features highlighted.

Directly below the preview window, is the timeline. The timeline is the part where you’ll be actively engaging with the editing of the video. The basic concept is that the timeline represents every second of time in the video, and has a timestamped rule as it’s second row to indicate what time is being displayed in the preview window. As you move the timeline marker you can move through the video to the section that you want to edit.

 

The editing timeline of mediasite.

Editing screencasts (and/or video/audio)

The only editing that can be done to screencasts, with or without video/audio, is to cut time from the recording and add chapters (if desired). On the timeline click on and hold the timeline marker and drag the marker so that the time you want to cut out of the video is completely highlighted in blue.

Once highlighted, the cut time and uncut time buttons will become available.

  • Cut time: will remove the highlighted section from the video

 

  • Uncut time: will replace any cut time that is in the highlighted area

A screenshot of the MDR editing timeline with a section of the timeline highlighted in blue. Contextual cut time/uncut time buttons have appeared which can be used to remove or restore the highlighted section of the video.

When a section is cut from the video, it will continue to appear on the timeline but will not be included in the finished edit, any cut time will appear as a black screen in the preview window. If you wish to restore a section that has been cut, simply highlight it again and press the uncut time button.

Editing slideshows (and/or video/audio)

If you are editing a slideshow, you will see much the same interface as editing video, but you will have a few more tools to use. Mediasites will automatically detect slides and slide changes, it will then put thumbnails onto the timeline representing the start of each slide change. You can still edit sections of time the same way you had previously in the editing screencast section, but you will also be able to click directly on a slide to make some edits if necessary.

The Mediasite edit slide window orientation.

Examples of slides edits include:

  • Insert slides: inserts new slides into the video – be warned this will not change the audio but may overlap existing slides.
  • Delete slides: remove slides from the video.
  • Replace slides: replaces a slide with a new one – could be used for instance if original slide included a mistake or information you wouldn’t want in a recording.
  • Edit slide: allows you to change the title and description of the slide on Mediasite (cannot change content of slide itself).
  • Cut slides: will cut multiple selected slides from the recording
  • Copy slides: will copy selected slides
  • Paste slides: paste copied slides to another time in the video.

The Mediasite edit slide timeline with the slide edit buttons highlighted.

Committing to your edits

Though this sounds like a big step, the terminology used for “saving” your edits is chosen carefully. Be very sure that you have finished your edits and won’t need to change anything drastically in the future, if you have cut any content, once committed you will not be able to uncut it to restore it to the video.

To commit to your edits and finish your video ready for sharing, locate the commit button on the Mediasite toolbar in the top left of the page. You will have several choices from the drop-down list:

The mediasite edit toolbar with the commit button circled.

The mediasite edit commit button menu with commit to current circled.

  • Commit to current: will save all edits to your video as the current presentation on Mediasites.
  • Commit to new: will create a copy of your original presentation that will have your edits, and will leave a copy of your original presentation in your Mediasite catalog.
  • Commit to existing: will save your presentation over an already existing presentation from your catalog.

Once you have selected your option, you will be asked one more time to commit to your edited changes. Once committed, you can close the editing tab in your browser, return to Blackboard, open the My Mediasite tab again and locate your edited presentation.

 

The commit to changes dialogue box when finalising editing.

In the next section, you can find out how to share your video on Blackboard.