This guide relates to Blackboard Learn ULTRA
Releasing content in a specific sequence
A useful feature of Learning Modules is the function Forced Sequence, this will allow you to release content to students in a pre-defined order so that students need to complete an item before moving on to the next.
Another function that will help to regulate the release of materials is Release Conditions where you can stipulate the following conditions:
- Membership of specific groups
- Date and Time
One of the reasons that it is recommended that Learning Modules are used as your level one container for materials is that you have the option to use the Force Completion function, this is not currently available in Folders.
When you are creating or editing a Learning Module one of the options will be to check a box for Forced Sequence.
Check the box by clicking on it.
This will turn on Forced Sequence for that Learning Module.
Student View of Forced Sequence
When a student opens a Forced Sequence Learning Module they can see they work they need to do but can only access the first element.
All work not yet completed.
- There are review status icons next to each item in the Learning Module.
- For the first item it is an empty circle.
- For each subsequent item the review status icon is a padlock to indicate that the material is not currently available.
A message will appear to students when they hover over the empty circle review status icon stating, “this item cannot be marked started until it is opened”.
Working through the material
When the student opens the first item, in this case a PowerPoint file, the opened item shows on the screen and a forward arrow in the top right-hand corner indicates to the student that they can move on to the next item in the Learning Module.
The student can click on the arrow and open the second file without going back to the Course Content screen.
For a file or Document opening the item will trigger it as being completed.
The review status icon will change to a green tick when the item is deemed to be completed.
Assessment or Discussions
For assessments or discussions the student will have to submit or post in order for that item to be deemed as complete and the next item revealed.
The review status icon will show as a half full circle if the item has been opened but not completed. This will be in the case of assessment or discussions.
When a Student hovers over an incomplete review status a message will appear stating “this item will be marked complete when a submission or post is made”.
This lets the student know that they have to submit or post to move on to the next item.
Completed Learning Module
When the student has completed the entire Learning Module it will be marked for them with a green tick that can be see without opening the Learning Module.
Instructors can use Progress Tracking to check on how their students are progressing through a learning Module.
Blackboard Help guide on Progress Tracking
If you have not turned on Progress Tracking on your course there is no dashboard to let you know how the students are processing through the Learning Module.