Blackboard Assignment: Mark a Group Assignment

Access the Assignment submission

Access the Group assignment submissions in your course, through Control Panel > Grade Centre.

See the guide on accessing and viewing Blackboard assignments for tips on managing access to assignments whilst marking.

Entering Feedback & Grades

When marking a group assignment you have the same options for entering general feedback and an overall grade.

Click on the ‘show/hide grading panel’ arrow, or inside the Attempt Grade box to reveal the ‘Grading panel’.

Reveal Grading Panel

To give all members of the group the same mark enter a mark in the light blue Attempt Grade field.

 

Important information!

When marking a group assignment you have an additional option to give different grades to each member of the group. 

To give each member of the group a different grade: at the bottom of the feedback panel you will see the names of the GROUP MEMBERS and have the option to enter an individual grade for each person.

Apply Individual Grading Panel

Click the ‘Override/Revert’ pen icon beside a group members name to enter a revised grade.

Click the Save green tick to complete the entry.

Save a revised Grade by clicking 'Save'

You will see a message:

‘Success: Override grade saved.’

A different grade is then displayed for that group member, from the one entered for the assignment as a whole.

Override Grade Success Message

What if I’m marking anonymously?

If your assignment was set up as anonymous, you will not be able to enter individual marks and the option to edit the grades will simply be unavailable.

Individual grades can be entered once anonymity has been lifted.

Anonymous marking: individual mark view unavailable.


👉 Key considerations when marking Group Assignments:

Blackboard Group Assignments manages marking as:

  1. Group Marking
  2. Individual Marking

Group Marking:
All feedback updates and mark updates will sync with overall student feedback.

Individual Marking:
Individual marking triggers, when marker overrides marks for an individual student on “Attempts view” page, or on “Mark Details” page  (on “Edit user Mark” window or on “Manual Override” tab).  Only affect students whose marks have been overridden. Other students in corresponding group (or groups) will remain on “Group Marking”.

What happens when marks are overridden for an individual student?
Overall feedback is saved as an individual feedback. Therefore if marker updates overall feedback on “Attempts View” page, “Individual Feedback” wont be updated for that student. But student can view both feedback (Individual and Group)

Overall feedback and individual feedback

Student view in “My Marks and Feedback”