How to hide and reveal the assignment
When you create any kind of assessment in Blackboard, a column is automatically added in the Grade Centre. By default, a Blackboard Assignment is visible to students unless the box beside ‘Show to students in My Grades’ was un-ticked when setting up the assignment.
To hide an assignment whilst marking and moderation is taking place or reveal feedback to students after marking has been completed:
- Go to Course menu -> Control Panel -> Grade Centre -> Full Grade Centre
- Find the column for the assignment you want to hide and open the contextual menu for it
- In the Menu, choose ‘Hide from Students (on/off)’
- You will know an assignment is hidden from students when the ‘Column not visible to students’ symbol appears next to the assignment name.
- To reveal the grades, repeat the same process and make sure the icon is not there.
This is a manual process. If an an Assignment is a Blackboard Assignment, the Grade Centre column must be revealed to be visible to students in My Grades. Turnitin Assignments will automatically unhide the column once the Post-Date is reached.