Blackboard Collaborate: Accessing Recordings

If you record a Collaborate session from your Blackboard course, then once the recording has been processed, it will be available from the Collaborate area of that course.

Locating Collaborate recordings

Staff

Go to Control Panel > Course Tools > Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.

Or  via a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra tool link added to the course menu.

Students

Students can be given access via a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra tool link added to the course menu, or in a content area.

Please see the guide Setting up Collaborate Ultra on your Blackboard course.

 

The Blackboard Collaborate Ultra screen

Staff and students see essentially the same screen, although students will not see any editing options.

Click on the Menu button (three horizontal lines), top left, to switch from Sessions to Recordings.

Top left Hamburger menu in the Collaborate page, when opened clicking 'recordings'

 

 Caution!
After ending a session recording, it needs to be processed before it will appear in the list of Recordings. Depending on the length of your recording this can take a little time (e.g. up to a couple of hours).

The default under ‘Show Recent Recordings’ is to show any recordings made in the last week.

List of recordings in Collaborate

To view older recordings, click where it says ‘Show Recent Recordings’ to reveal the menu and select ‘Show Recordings In A Range’. You can then specify the start and end dates you want to search.

Show recordings drop down menu options

You can also search for recordings by keyword used in the name given to the recording. Click the ‘Search Sessions’ button (magnifying glass icon) in the top right of the Recording page.

Showing the item menu button and menu options listed in items one to five

Click on the title under Recording Name to watch the recording. (Opens in a new window.)

Click the Recording Options button besides a specific recording to do the following:

  1. Click Copy Link to copy the web link to the recording. Be aware: Anyone sent the link can access and view the recording. (Do not circulate this link unless you have permission from those who took part in the session.)
  2. Click Watch Now to view the recording. (Opens in a new window.)
  3. Click Download Download icon to save a copy of the recording in MP4 format. (Note: This option is only available if ‘Allow Recording Downloads’ has been ticked in the Course Room or Session Settings.)
  4. Click the Delete button Waste Paper delete Icon to remove a recording. If you click Delete, you will be prompted to confirm your action before the recording is actually deleted. (Note: This option is not visible to students. Deleted recordings cannot be recovered.)

 

Watch a recording

Click the title of a recording or the Watch Now option to open a recording.

The recording loads in a new window.

Note: It might take a little while for the recording to load.

Broken circle showing item is loading

Once loaded. Click the Play button to watch the recording.

Note: Only video, audio and whiteboard content is recorded. Chat is not captured in the recording.

Loaded video with play button symbol

If Allow Download Recording has been enabled, anyone with access to the recording can also download recordings when watching it.

To do this, click on the Open Recording Menu button, in the top left of the screen.

Click Download Recording.

Recordings are downloaded as MP4 files.

Hamburger menu to download recordings

When playing the recording, controls appear at the bottom of the screen.

Highlighting the control functions in the playing video

 

Who can view Collaborate recordings?

See Blackboard Collaborate: Privacy of recordings