Home / Course Management / Manage and enrol users

Manage and enrol users

Students enrolled on a module in RISIS (the University’s student records system) will automatically be enrolled in the appropriate Blackboard course. This means that normally you should not need to manually add students to your courses in Blackboard – but please note this automatic process runs once a day (overnight) and at the start of the year can take up to 48 hours to complete.

Read more: How and when are students enrolled on courses?

There may be times when you may need to manually add users to your courses, usually when you want to add another member of staff to the course.

How do I enrol a user onto a course?

Enrolling users and managing their roles within Blackboard Ultra is a very simple process with only a handful of steps. You can use the links below to jump to each step in the process as necessary.

Checking Class Register

You can see a record of all Blackboard users enrolled on a course by clicking on “Class register”, which is found under the “Details and Actions” menu on the left-hand side of the page. If you are getting requests to enrol new users onto courses, it is worth checking the register to see if the person is already enrolled on the course.

Screenshot of class register link

Access to view the student register is on a need-to-know basis and is therefore limited to staff and not available to students.

Once you have opened the Class Register, you can switch between a grid or list layout by clicking the icons in the top left of the screen. You can also use filters to remove Instructors or Students from the list as necessary.

Screenshot showing Register screen

Enrolling course members

To enrol users onto a course:

  • Click on the plus icon in the top right hand of the Class Register screen.
  • A new window will appear, click “Enrol People”.
  • A side-pane will open and you can use the search bar to find the person you want to enrol. You can use either their name or username to search for people.
  • Once you find the person you want to enrol, click anywhere on their name to open the role drop-down menu.
  • Select the desired role from the list available and click save at the bottom of the menu.

GIF showing search and enrol process

We do not recommend using the “Invite Students” function, as students should either be automatically enrolled by way of selecting the module on RISIS, or by being enrolled as a guest

Changing users roles

To change a users role within a course:

  • Navigate to the Class Register screen and find their entry in the list.
  • Click the three-dots icon at the right-hand side of the name card.
  • A new window will appear, click “Edit member information”.

GIF showing edit member information process

  • A side-pane will open with a drop-down menu that you can use to review available roles. The users current role will be selected in the drop-down by default.
  • Select a new role as appropriate but please note that you shouldn’t need to change a students role within a course.
  • Click the “Account Information” tab to see additional information about the user such as their email address and student ID.
  • Make sure you don’t un-tick the “Allow access to course” box as this will stop user from being able to open the course.

GIF showing role changing menu and process

Removing users from courses

There may be times when you need to remove colleagues from a course, such as academic colleagues no longer teaching a module. You may also choose to remove yourself from courses which you are no longer involved with.

The most simple way of doing this by unticking the “Allow access to course” box in the users Member Information panel. To do this:

  • Navigate to the Class Register screen and find their entry in the list.
  • Click the three-dots icon at the right-hand side of the name card.
  • A new window will appear, click “Edit member information”.
  • A side-pane will open and you will see a tick box with the text “Allow access to course” next to it. This will be ticked by default.
  • Click the box and the tick will disappear. Click Save. The users access to the course is now disabled.

Screenshot showing tick box removing users access to course

Using this function has some additional benefits:

  • The current version of the course will be invisible to the user with immediate effect, and they will no longer receive announcements or emails from the course.
  • Then the course is copied forward for the next academic year, unavailable staff enrolments will be ignored – so in fixing the issue for the current year, you are also preventing it from recurring in the future.

With student enrolments, we recommend that you use this method rather than deleting them from the course, as an accidental deletion of a students records can have serious implications. By deleting a students record you also delete the students Gradebook records and any submitted assessments, which is obviously to be avoided.


Guide last updated on January 19, 2024

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Scroll to Top