Blackboard Collaborate: Privacy of recordings

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

A recent change in Blackboard (10th September 2020) means that new Collaborate recordings are by default only visible to staff and students enrolled on the Blackboard course in which the session was scheduled.

Recording of live online interactive sessions with students should not be made publicly available. Before considering allowing public access to  a recording please refer to the Policy for Recording and Digital Delivery of Teaching in 2020/21.

If you need to share recordings via a link, you will need to enable public access, meaning that anybody with the link will be able to view the recording.

To do this, locate the Collaborate recording, go to Recording settings and chang Access to Public.

Collaborate recording settings - allow public access

 

Caution!These changes will apply only to recordings made after the new privacy settings came into effect. It will not automatically change the settings on recordings made before 10th September 2020, but you will be able to edit the settings on individual recordings, to untick 'Allow public access'.