Important update regarding BB and Microsoft Stream integration:
The prefix used to identify a Group for a Blackboard module in Microsoft Stream is changing. This is scheduled to take place on Monday 19th April.
What does this mean?
- The Group name is what you search for when you want to add permissions to a video and share it with a Blackboard module so students can view it. (The Sharing Stream video with your Blackboard module help guide shows this process.)
- After the 19th April, you will need to type something different into the Permissions search field to find the Group for the Blackboard module you want to add.
- You don’t need to make any changes to videos with existing permissions.
The new prefix
Currently, Group names for Blackboard modules appear in MS Stream in the following format: COURSE_blackboard-course-id.
For example: COURSE_ABC123-20-1MOD
Following the update, the new format will be:
The prefix ‘COURSE_’ is being replaced with ‘BB**_’ where ** corresponds to the start of the relevant academic year for the module.
For example: COURSE_ABC123-20-1MOD becomes BB20_ ABC123-20-1MOD.
Microsoft Groups are used to manage permissions to content in Stream.
Adding permissions to a video
You can share video content with your students via a Blackboard Course.
Watch this video to find out more:
DTS create a Stream Group for every 2020/21 Blackboard course representing one or more modules (i.e. all courses ending 20-1MOD). This creates a course ‘playlist’ in Stream. Inside the Microsoft Stream content area of your course you will find
- a link to the ‘playlist’
- videos from the ‘playlist’ embedded into the page.
Staff and students enrolled on the Blackboard course are added to the Stream Group each night, with the appropriate permissions, so all students on the course should be able to access these videos without difficulty.
You must enroll staff or students on your Blackboard module in order for them to see the video – adding members manually will be deleted by the integration script. If you have shared videos with specific individuals who are not in the Stream Group, those sharing permissions will be unaffected by this.
You will need to prevent students being able to add any videos they upload into Stream to a Group associated to a Blackboard Module instructors should ensure that the “Allow all members to contribute” option for Stream Groups is unchecked.
Inside Blackboard you will find a content area, created by DTS, with a link to the Module ‘playlist’.
It is essential that the Microsoft Stream content area is not deleted or renamed. You can hide the content area (set it as unavailable) if you do not want students to access Stream content in this way.
To set permissions in Stream
In the Video Content area, Click Update video details
When in the video update area, go to the Permissions area and select My groups from the Share with drop down menu.
Start typing ‘COURSE_‘ and then the module code and press Enter to return the results. Select the group which will show.
If you are sharing with a Blackboard Organisation, start typing ‘COURSE_ORG_‘
Check the Permissions are set to Display only, otherwise students on the course will have full access to the video editing.
Click Apply at the top of the screen.
You cannot manually edit the membership of Stream Groups created by the Blackboard integration. If you need other students or colleagues to be able to access the Stream Group, you will have to * ensure that they are enrolled on the relevant Blackboard course * or share specific videos with specific named individuals.
Embed your video
Good practice recommends embedding your video into a section of your Blackboard module that sits in context of other learning resources for your students.
For further details see: MS Stream: Embed your Video in Blackboard
Other ways of sharing videos
Watch the following video for a step by step guide to Stream Groups and Permissions:
Go to My Content > Videos, then select Update video details.
Under Permissions choose People from the drop-down list.
Start typing a name into the box, then press the Search icon (magnifying glass).
Select the correct person from the search results.
You can continue to search for and select people with whom to share the video.
When done, press Save.
It is also possible - but not recommended - to make the video visible to anyone in the University (both staff and students).
This is controlled by the box marked 'Allow everyone in your company to view this video'.
Videos should normally be shared only with Groups or Channels or individuals - not made visible to the entire organisation.
It is very important that you do not tick the 'Allow everyone in your company to view this video' box accidentally. In some cases - for instance if you record a video directly in Stream - this box will be ticked by default, so you will have to make sure you untick it.
Go to My Content > Videos and click on the Add to group/channel icon.
Again, follow the same procedure, but from the drop-down list select Channels, then search for and select the required Channel.
As with the other examples on this page, you can share a video with more than one Channel.