In Turnitin LTI version you can emulate the student submission experience by using Student Preview Mode.
Turn on Student Preview
To turn on Student Preview go to the top right-hand corner of the Blackboard window.
Click on the eye icon.
While Student Preview is on an orange band will appear at the top of the screen.
Submit to Turnitin Assignment
When Student Preview is on you can navigate around the course as a student. You will going be able to see the content that is available to students.
When you click on a Turnitin Assignment you will not go through to the Assignment Inbox that you see as an administrator but the student Assignment Dashboard.
- (1) Student submission details, click on the assignment title to see all the full details of the assignment. This will include the instructions, rubric and whether resubmissions are allowed.
- (2) Upload Button, when you are ready to upload click this button.
You can upload a paper as if you were a student so see the full process as a student would. See our student guide Turnitin LTI: How to submit to Turnitin.
Once previewed and submitted a success message will appear.
Close the Turnitin tab and return to the course window.
Exit Student Preview
To exit the student preview go to the top right-hand corner of the screen and click on the Exit Preview button.
A window will appear with a number of options.
- (1) Default option, will remove the preview user, however the paper will remain in the inbox.
- (2) If you wish to keep the preview-user on the course and the inbox roster select this option.
The uploaded paper will remain in the inbox with either option. You can remove it from the assignment inbox page.
To open the Assignment Inbox click on the submission point. The uploaded paper will be in your own username.
If anonymity is turned on you will need to open the uploaded submission’s receipt and find the submission/paper ID number to locate the paper you need to remove.
Page last updated on January 24, 2023 by taralehane