Learning Modules and Folders
Learning Modules and Folders are both ways of organising materials on an Ultra course or organisation. They can both contain items, folders and other types of content, but they differ in a few ways.
- Learning Modules can have an image uploaded to enhance their appearance.
- A Learning Module can contain multiple Folders, but a Folder cannot contain a Learning Module.
- Learning Modules forward and back arrows allow students to move from item to item without returning to the Course Content list.
- The ‘Force Sequence’ option is available for Learning Modules only.
- When Progress Tracking is on Learning Modules will show the progress in the student’s view.
- Not started (Start button Force Sequence only)
- Continue (with a progress bar)
- Both can contain a Folder (but contents can only go two levels deep)
- Both can contain any other item types including Documents, Files, assessments and media.
From the Create Items menu under Course Content items select Learning Module. The panel will now display the create Learning Module screen.
- At the top of the panel add the name of your Learning Module
- Change the setting “Hidden from students” at this point or later from the course content
- Add a Description – this text will appear on the Learning Module in the course content
- Add Image – if you decide not to add an image a Learning Module icon will appear
- Check the box to turn on Forced Sequence (optional). See our guide on Forced Sequence for further details.
This will create a Learning Module, which you can add content to.
- When Forced Sequence is on a start button will appear on the Learning Module.
- The Learning Module can be opened using the arrows on the right-hand side. When opened it will reveal the contents.
- When Force Sequence is turned on, the content can only be accessed by students in the prescribed order. In the student’s view a padlock icon will appear next to material not yet available to them.
From the Create Items menu under Course Content items select Folder. The panel will now display the create Folder screen.
- At the top of the panel add the name of your Folder
- Change the setting “Hidden from students” at this point or later from the course content.
- Add a Description – this text will appear on the folder in the course content.
The new Folder will appear wherever you clicked on the add content icon.
Visible to Students – Batch Edit
With Learn Ultra it is possible to change multiple items from ‘Hidden from students’ to ‘Visible to students’ in a batch action.
See our guide Ultra: Batch Edit – Visible to Students.
For more information on Batch Edit in Ultra see the Blackboard Help page Batch Edit.
Page last updated on August 3, 2023 by taralehane