Home / Course Management / Course Groups / Managing Groups

Managing Groups

    Editing groups

  • Click the three-dot menu for the Group Set you want to edit. Select Edit.
  • In the group menu, there are various actions you can take like reassigning membership, unassigning membership, changing group types, messaging groups and importing or exporting groups.
Screenshot showing the three-dot menu icon and the edit option
  • Save any changes you’ve made.

Ramifications:

  • Changing group membership will affect where group release conditions have been set, meaning students may lose access to some content items.
  • Flexible grading allows moving group members even after submission or where work has been marked. When you move members to different groups, their marks move with them, but their work doesn’t.

Messaging Groups

You are able to send a direct message to group members, which will appear as an email in their student Outlook account. You can message individual groups or all groups in a set at once.

Message all groups in a set

Click the three-dot menu for the Group Set you want to message. Select Send message to [Group Set name].

Screenshot showing the three-dot menu icon and the message groups option
  1. Add your message to the text editor.
  2. (Optional) Check the tick box to send an email copy of your message.
  3. Click Send.
Screenshot showing the text editor

Message individual groups

Open the Group Set containing the group you want to message and locate the relevant group.

Click the three-dot menu for the group you want to message. Select Message group.

Screenshot showing the three-dot menu icon and the message groups option
  1. Add your message to the text editor.
  2. (Optional) Check the tick box to send an email copy of your message.
  3. Click Send.
Screenshot showing the text editor

Deleting groups

  • Click the three-dot icon and select Delete group.
Screenshot showing the three dot menu icon and the delete group option
  • When prompted if you’re sure you want to permanently delete a group, select Delete (or Cancel if not).
  • Be aware that deleting groups is irreversible and you will need to recreate them if they are needed again.
  • Deleting group sets attached to assessment or content Release Conditions will cause those group release conditions to be removed.
  • If you delete an assessment or content item that has groups attached to it, the group sets will not be affected.

Guide last updated on August 10, 2026

Scroll to Top