The Staff Forum wants your voice to be heard. 

As formal consultation has begun, the Staff Forum is here to give all colleagues a voice by bringing your thoughts, ideas and initiatives forward during the Consultation period. Whatever grade you are on or the job you do, we would like to hear from you. Please use this page to keep updated regarding the current consultation period. You can also sign up to our distribution list.

Useful links:

Post-Covid-19 Response Programme – FAQs

Consultation Minutes

 

Session  Resource Date
VC Briefing Session VC Briefing Session Friday 14th August 2020 at 12pm
Staff Forum Consultation Survey Results Summary Wednesday 29th July 2020
Staff Forum FAQs with answers

NB: Answers provided by John Brady (Director of HR)

Wednesday 29th July 2020
Discussion Sessions

Topic: Pay Freeze and one other option…which would you choose?

SF Discussion summary 28-07-2020 and 30-07-2020 Tuesday 28th July 2020 & Thursday 30th July 2020
UEB Question and Answer Session Video Monday 27th July 2020
VC Briefing Session VC Briefing Session  Wednesday 22nd July 2020 at 3pm or Thursday 23rd July 2020 at 1pm
Discussion Sessions

Topic: Tiered Pay Cut

SF Discussion Session Summary 21-07-2020 and 23-07-2020 Tuesday 21st July 2020 & Thursday 23rd July 2020
Discussion Sessions – Redundancy: How far are we willing to go to save jobs? SF Discussion Summary 14-07-20 and 16-07-2020 Tuesday 14th July 2020 & Thursday 16th July 2020
Discussion Sessions – 4 day week: a workable option SF Discussion Summary 07/09-07-2020 Tuesday 7th July 2020 & Thursday 9th July 2020
VC Briefing session VC Briefing Session 3pm Wednesday 8th July 2020 or 1pm on Thursday 9th July 2020
VC’s update on consultation with UCU and Staff Forum Staff Portal 3rd July 2020
Discussion Sessions – Pay freeze SF Discussion Summary Tuesday 30th June 2020 & Thursday 2nd July 2020
Post Covid Response Programme FAQ website
NB: The section 188 letter and minutes from consultation meetings can also be found on this link.
Discussion Session – 4 day week: A fair option? SF Discussion Summary 25 06 2020 Thursday 25th June 2020
Discussion Session – Pay Cuts: Pros and Cons SF_Discussion_Summary_23_06_2020 Tuesday 23rd June 2020
UEB Question & Answer Session Video  Wednesday 17th June 2020

 

The Staff Forum’s role in the consultation process: 

The Staff Forum is a group of volunteers who work at the University of Reading and fulfill their duties as representatives in addition to their day-to-day role. Throughout the consultation period, we can consult on behalf of staff in grades 1-5 and inform grades 6+ (UCU is formally consulting on behalf of grades 6+ in this process) 

The Staff Forum have attended all of the meetings in the consultation so far since the first meeting was held on 18th June 2020. These meetings are between members of the University, the Staff Forum and UCU representatives and aim to gain a collective agreement on the steps the University can take to reduce the number of potential redundancies that may be required due to the current financial situation.