How will students access Gradescope?
Students will click on the Gradescope link created in your Blackboard course.
A link to Gradescope should be included inside the Exam folder for every exam which will be using Gradescope.
There may be more than one link to Gradescope inside the course. If students click on such a link before the exam is available to them, they will see a message saying that no assignments are available yet.
If they click on the Gradescope logo, top left, they will be able to access all Gradescope courses in which they are enrolled.
When an assignment is available, this is visible in their Gradescope dashboard.
Click on the name of the assignment to see further details and start the exam.
Once the student clicks Start Assignment the timer begins. They can download the exam paper from this screen.
Submitting work to Gradescope
When they have completed the exam and scanned their work, the student can submit it as separate images, or as a single PDF.
The latter is recommended as – especially for students with a poor internet connection – it should be easier and require less bandwidth to submit a single file than several separate images.
The student selects the file to upload
Then presses Upload PDF.
A ‘processing’ screen displays while the file is being uploaded. Once submitted, they are invited to identify which question is on which page.
Near the top of this screen the student will see their submission time displayed. Although they do not get a formal receipt until the next stage in the process, the submission is complete at this point and the submission time has been recorded.
The process of assigning questions to pages is a separate activity which they can carry out in their own time.
However the timer is still running, so if they decide to resubmit their work, that will need to be completed within the original time limit.
Once the questions have been assigned to the correct page, the student should press Submit.
If they have not assigned all of the questions a warning message appears, although they can still continue with the submission.
Once submitted a submission message is displayed – although as previously noted the actual submission time was when they uploaded their work.
If necessary, they can
- Reselect Pages – to reassign questions and pages
- Resubmit – students can resubmit work as many times as they need to until the due date passes or the timer runs out (the timer continues to run from when they first pressed Start Assignment).