MS Stream: Add and Edit Permissions

You can share Stream videos with individual people (staff or student), with one or more Groups, or with one or more Channels.

Sharing with specific individuals

Go to My Content > Videos, then select Update video details.

Update Stream video details

Under Permissions choose People from the drop-down list.

Start typing a name into the box, then press the Search icon (magnifying glass).

Select the correct person from the search results.

Share Stream video with a named individual

You can continue to search for and select people with whom to share the video.

When done, press Save.

Sharing with a Group

There are two types of Group you are likely to have access to

  • Groups which correspond to a Team
  • Groups which correspond to a Blackboard course

See MS Stream: Groups

To share with a Group, go to My Content > Videos and click on the Add to group/channel icon.

Add Stream video to a Group or Channel

Follow the same process as shown above, but select My Groups from the drop-down list, and then search for the required Group.

Share Stream video with a Group

You can share a video with more than one Group – so you can make a video available to students on more than one Blackboard course.

Sharing with a Channel

Go to My Content > Videos and click on the Add to group/channel icon.

Again, follow the same procedure, but from the drop-down list select Channels, then search for and select the required Channel.

Share Stream video with a Channel

As with the other examples on this page, you can share a video with more than one Channel.

 

Sharing with everyone in the University

It is also possible – but not recommended – to make the video visible to anyone in the University (both staff and students).

This is controlled by the box marked ‘Allow everyone in your company to view this video’.

Share Stream video with everyone

Important information!Videos should normally be shared only with Groups or Channels or individuals - not made visible to the entire organisation.
Caution!It is very important that you do not tick the 'Allow everyone in your company to view this video' box accidentally.
In some cases - for instance if you record a video directly in Stream - this box will be ticked by default, so you will have to make sure you untick it.
Allow everyone to view this video option ticked by default