Blackboard Content Collection: My Content

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Introduction

This article concerns forthcoming changes to the My Content area in Blackboard – users’ ability to upload files to this area is being removed from 4 October 2021.

The Blackboard Content Collection houses all the files which staff upload to courses and organisations. There is also an area for each Blackboard user labelled ‘My Content’. This was quite innovative when first introduced a dozen or more years ago, but is now largely redundant, since all students and staff have access to a massive amount of personal storage in OneDrive.

From  4 October 2021 you will no longer be able to upload new files to your My Content area.

You will still be able to

  • Delete files from My Content.
  • Edit the sharing permissions on existing content – for example, if you had shared a file with other users, you can remove these permissions.
  • Download existing content.

If you do have content in My Content, you may want to move it elsewhere in Blackboard, to OneDrive or Teams, and then delete it from Blackboard.

How do I find My Content?

Go to Tools on the main Blackboard navigation menu, and choose Content Collection.

Link to the Content Collection from the Blackboard navigation menu

My Content is displayed at the top of the Content Collection menu as shown here – above Course Content, Organisation Content and Institution Content.

Content Collection menu - folder view

Or

Content Collection menu - icon view

How do I manage existing content?

Delete content

Tick the box to select one or more files, then press Delete.

Delete files from the Content Collection

Edit permissions

Files and folders may be

  • Private – not shared
  • Shared with some users
  • Public – shared with everyone, even users without a Blackboard account.

Permissions icons in the Content Collection

To edit permissions for a file or folder, click on the relevant icon in the Permissions column.

Then tick the box next to the sharing permission and press Delete to remove those permissions.

Delete sharing permissions

Download files

Tick the relevant boxes to download an individual file, multiple files, or all files.

Then press Download Package.

Download files from the Content Collection

Whether selecting one file or many, Blackboard will zip up your files to download them, retaining the folder structure.

Move files to another location

Select the content you want to move, then press Move.

Select content to move

This opens a new page. In the DESTINATION section, click on the Browse button.

Moving files in the Content Collection - Browse button

A smaller window opens. Now Browse to find the folder that you want to move your content to.

Browse Content Collection locations

Once you have found the right place, select the radio button next to its name, then press Submit.

Select destination folder

When you have selected the new location, you are returned to the main window; press Submit one more time.